North Dakota State University will target the communities of Standing Rock Sioux Tribe in Sioux County and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians in Rolette County. This project will increase access to places that provide healthier and culturally-appropriate foods, including schools, group meal settings, childcare centers, and retailers. Another outcome of this project is to increase safe, culturally-appropriate, and accessible places for physical activity for these communities.

The Bush Foundation will award nearly $5 million to 30 organizations through its Community Innovation Grant program. Funds will support problem-solving efforts across a range of issue areas including domestic violence prevention, food sovereignty and watershed preservation. “This year’s Community Innovation Grant recipients represent a growing network of organizations that are truly advocating for social change. It’s impressive to see the depth and breadth of thoughtful and responsive processes these organizations have proposed, and I know the Foundation is pleased to support such collaborative work,” said Molly Matheson Gruen, Bush Foundation Community Innovation Director. The Community Innovation Grant program was established in 2013 for community stakeholders to find breakthrough solutions to complex challenges. Projects receiving Community Innovation Grant support will inspire collaborative problem-solving processes that lead to more effective, equitable and sustainable solutions.

Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians
The Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indian (TMBCI) Reservation is located on a six mile by twelve-mile land base and is considered one of the most densely populated Reservations, per square mile, in the United States. If the Turtle Mountain Reservation was listed as a city, it would be the 5th largest city in North Dakota.  The Reservation is near the geographical center of North America in north central North Dakota, ten miles south of the Canadian Border. The hub city on the reservation is Belcourt, ND and is situated in Rolette County.  The surrounding communities where tribal members also live include: Dunseith, St John, Rolette, and Rolla.Type your paragraph here.